Outlaws

Like many people, I have a nighttime playlist i sometimes use to put me in that hypnogogic state.  At present it features a fair amount of Harold Budd, which makes me feel as if I’m diving through a sea of sound, hunting a pearl dream.  But tonight as I was drifting down something else caught my attention.  It wasn’t a pearl.  It was soft and fluid yet angular, each facet glinting a different hue.  As I turned it over in my mind, it started to grow, rising toward the surface, pulling me faster and faster until I snapped back to reality.  There I discovered:

Image

Bill Frisell can do amazing things with small pieces of melody and noise.  This pen and paper skeleton of the tune doesn’t do justice to the mood Bill’s guitar sets.  This is from the album With Dave Holland and Elvin Jones, where he joins forces with those masters to make some amazing original music.

Leave a Reply

