Giulietta Masina

This week I’ve been listening to a lot of Caetano Veloso.  He is easily one of my favorite songwriters.  His tunes are often short and simple but they stick in my mind for days after I hear them.

Giulietta Masina was the wife and frequent subject of famed director Federico Fellini.  Her portrayal of tragic but strong-willed characters made an impression on me when I went through my “foreign movie phase” in high school, and biographers suggest she was musically talented as well, so I was delighted to discover this tribute to her.  On the record the form is played only twice before fading out, with soprano sax solos filling the vamp at the end.

Giulietta Masina

Leave a Reply

